English sextet to exit BBL earlier than expected, Maddinson, Marsh & Pattinson named for Gades

The Melbourne Renegades named their squad for the derby with Nic Maddinson and Shaun Marsh included while there was some major news about the English cohort returning home earlier than expected.



The Melbourne Renegades announced an 18-man squad to play the Melbourne Stars on Monday night at the MCG.

Among the inclusions was Nic Maddinson ($146k BAT) who hasn’t travelled to Sydney despite being on standby for the Ashes squad for the SCG Test, which may impact James Seymour.

Shaun Marsh ($106k BAT) is also included for the first time this season, while James Pattinson ($93k BWL) is included but still in doubt. Mitch Perry ($62k BWL) and Josh Lalor ($106k BWL) are also included.

On Patterson, the Renegades said: “Has been named in the extended squad but is still awaiting the result of a PCR test before being available to play.”

The Stars squad confirmed their 13-man squad on Monday, with Joe Clarke ($109k BAT/WKP) and Tom Rogers ($42k BAT) both out, replaced by replacement Travis Dean (BAT) and Ahmad Daniyal ($62k BWL).

The Stars update said: “Clarke returned a positive PCR test after yesterday’s match and local replacement player Tom Rogers returned a positive Rapid Antigen Test this morning, ruling both out of tonight’s Melbourne Derby.”

Renegades: Evans, Finch, Fraser-McGurk, Harper, Harvey, Zahir, Lalor, Maddinson (c), Marsh, Merlo, Nabi, Pattinson, Perry, Prestwidge, Richardson, Seymour, Sutherland, Topley

Stars: Maxwell (c), Qais Ahmad, Cartwright, Couch, Ahmad Daniyal, Dean, O’Connell, Haris Rauf, Avendano, Bangs, Crone, Rowe, Wakim


The big news of the afternoon was that the English cohort for the West Indies white-ball tour (January 22-30) would be called back to England by the ECB earlier than expected.

The relevant players are George Garton ($123k BAT/BWL), Sam Billings ($158k BAT/WKP), Saqib Mahmood ($154k BWL), Tymal Mills ($133k BWL), Reece Topley ($99k BWL) and James Vince ($96K BAT). It is anticipated all six players will leave Australia by January 7.

Leave a Reply