BBL|13 Availability Calendar: Which players will miss chunks of the season due to fixture clashes?

Finally SuperCoach is open for BBL|13 and thus we now know the rounds, meaning we can map out the availability calendar of players set to come and go during the season due to international commitments and rival T20 leagues.

Honeyball SC BBL memberships are on sale! Only $35 season offer or $20 per month. Get access to all HB content, plus our exclusive injury list, comprehensive global T20 leagues form guide, HB Twitter & Whatsapp chats, entry into our members-only SC group (with prizes) and discount offer for our digital mag.

We know the BBL fixtures run from December 7 to January 24 (the SC season ends January 17), so here’s the series/tours that matter and their timings and impacted players.


5-game T20I series v India – November 23 – December 3

Present: Matthew Wade, Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, Matthew Short, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Ben Dwarshuis

Departed: Sean Abbott, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

This series will have concluded a few days prior to the opening BBL game on December 7 allowing players time to fly back to Australia and train with their clubs, so it shouldn’t impact selection. However some of the World Cup stars like Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis have headed back on Wednesday 29 November, enabling ample time to prepare prior to BBL.

5-game Test series v Pakistan/West Indies – December 14-January 29

Impacted players: Travis Head, Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Mitch Marsh, Cameron Green, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon (all likely), Michael Neser, Todd Murphy, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Marcus Harris, Matt Renshaw, Josh Inglis, Scott Boland, Cameron Bancroft (all maybe)

Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne will squeeze in BBL’s Game 1 on December 7 prior to linking up with the Test squad. Steve Smith will play for the Sixers on December 8. Don’t expect them to play any other games until between the two Test series in mid-January.

David Warner is a unique case given he’s forecast his Test retirement after the SCG Test, meaning he’d miss the two Tests against the West Indies later in January and be available for the Thunder from approximately Round 7-8.

Prime Minister’s XI

Four-day tour match vs Pakistan (Canberra) – December 6-9

Confirmed: Nathan McSweeney, Michael Neser, Matt Renshaw, Jimmy Peirson, Mark Steketee, Beau Webster, Todd Murphy, Nathan McAndrew, Cameron Bancroft

Abu Dhabi T10 League

November 28 – December 9

Contracted players: Alex Hales, Daniel Sams, Zaman Khan, James Vince, Quinton de Kock, Colin Munro, Adam Hose, Peter Hatzoglou, Chris Lynn

There is a crossover of this league with the early BBL games, but it’s anticipated BBL-contracted players will be released from Abh Dhabi T10 League commitments to play in the BBL. Honeyball understands the Heat expect Colin Munro to arrive in Australia on December 2 or 3.


3-game ODI series v West Indies – December 3-9

Confirmed: Rehan Ahmed, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley

5-game T20I series v West Indies – December 12-21

Confirmed: Rehan Ahmed, Harry Brook

England Cricket confirmed this squad on Sunday 12 November, with all three selected BBL-contracted players to subsequently miss Round 1 of SC BBL. Crawley is only in the ODI squad, so should return in time for Round 2. The likes of Chris Jordan, Jamie Overton, Sam Hain and James Vince (pending T10 League commitments) have been spared so will be available. Harry Brook has since withdrawn from BBL|13.

South Africa

3-game T20I series v India – December 10-14

Impacted players: Quinton de Kock (possibly)


3-game Test series v Australia – December 14 – January 7

Impacted players: None

Haris Rauf turned down Test selection and the Stars expect him to be fully available for BBL, but the PCB aren’t happy with that and could block his arrival until around December 10. Usama Mir is in Pakistan’s training camp for late November but isn’t currently part of the touring squad thus should be fully available for BBL|13.

5-game T20I series v New Zealand – January 12-21

Impacted players: Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan (probably)


Four-day tour match v West Indies (Adelaide) – January 10-13

Impacted players: Unknown at this stage


3-game T20I series v India – January 11-17

Impacted players: Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (both likely)

Bangladesh Premier League

January 6-February 17

It’s unclear if drafted players will actually take up their BPL offers. It hasn’t been an issue in the past.

Contracted players: Harry Brook, Zaman Khan


January 10-February 10

Quinton de Kock and Rashid Khan were both franchise captains last year and have been signed up again.

Contracted players: Quinton de Kock, Rashid Khan, Liam Dawson


January 19-February 18

The ILT20 confirmed its fixtures only a fortnight ago and it’s a later start in BBL|13 which is good, meaning some of the contracted Aussies can go after their BBL commitments. Expect more players to get signed up too, but for now here is the contracted player list.

Contracted players; Laurie Evans, Sam Hain, Adam Hose, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Sam Billings, Corey Anderson, Daniel Sams, Joe Clarke, Colin Munro, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Chris Lynn, Matt Short, Nathan Ellis, Steve Smith


5-game Test series v India – January 25 – March 11

Impacted players: Harry Brook (likely), Zak Crawley (likely), Rehan Ahmed (possibly)



Leave a Reply